Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) halted the priority list of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) for the National Assembly special seats from Punjab, citing the absence of the election symbol. While the priority list for the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on the special seats, featuring 20 individuals, was issued, the PTI list was withheld.

The priority list of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) includes six names, and the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party’s (IPP) list positions Munazza Hassan at the top, followed by Firdous Ashiq in the second position, and Asia Azim securing the third spot.

In a related development, the ECP extended the deadline for foreign observers to submit their applications until January 20. The decision was made during a meeting chaired by the ECP secretary, attended by officials from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the interior ministry, and intelligence. The secretary informed the meeting that 200,000 accreditation cards had been printed, and the matters related to foreign observers are being monitored through an open-door policy. As of the meeting, responses had been received from 103 representatives of foreign media residing in Pakistan.